Zaporizhia is well connected to national traffic through a small airport, waterways and two main railway stations. In town, there are several attractions apart from Khortytsia, including several theaters and art galleries. A local association of artists and craftsmen named Kolorit holds public workshops and exhibitions at the Fountain of Life located at the central Square of Mayakovskoho. Additionally, there are a number of museums worth visiting, including the National Museum of Zaporizhzhian Cossacks. Between Khortytsia and the hydroelectric dam, there are a few smaller islands in the river and there is also a popular beach on the right side of the Dnieper.
There were close to 900,000 residents in the city around 1990, but since then population numbers have shrinked to under 780,000, some 20% of which are ethnic Russians. Russian is also the most common language used in town. While this location was important to the Cossacks from the 16th century on, the modern settlement was founded in 1770 when a fortress was erected to prevent Turkish attacks on the southern lands. Populated by Mennonites from Prussia, a city named Alexandrovsk developed, but significant development only occurred from the 1920s on, when the dam was planned and industries were built here according to a master plan. In World War II, the city suffered greatly. When the Germans moved on Zaporizhia in 1941, the Red Army damaged the dam on purpose, causing a flood that killed thousands of people downstream. The town became a local headquarter for the Germans who held Zaporizhia for about two years, also causing many deliberate damages when they retreated in 1943.
Zaporizhia also saw anti-government protests during the Euromaidan revolution of 2014 and experienced clashes between Ukrainians and pro-Russians in the ensuing conflict.